American Cinema Foundation
T: 310.889.0742

Freedom Film Festival 2005

The American Cinema Foundation, in cooperation with GILA, presents the eighth edition of its yearly festival celebrating cinema from central and eastern Europe. The Andrzej Wajda Freedom Prize, given annually by the ACF during the Berlin International Film Festival each February, recognizes European talent and celebrates the relationship between two great film cities, Berlin and Los Angeles. FFF 2005 highlights two winners of this prize—Andreas Dresen and Jan Svankmajer—and looks back on a quarter century of dramatic change in Europe. All films are presented in their original language with English subtitles. The festival takes place May 19-21 at the Goethe-Institut Los Angeles, 5750 Wilshire Blvd. #100, Los Angeles, CA 90036.

Andreas Dresen and Jan Svankmajer:
Winners of the 2005 Andrzej Wajda Freedom Prize.

(Also available in this year's Yugoslavia: A Case Study.)